To put it in a modern slang, “a special operation of folk songs rammsteinization is crowned with success!” or rather, with the release of the EP called “Aus deutschen Landen”, by one of the most promising NDH projects which is called Nebelhaus. This time Tim and KJ did not waste time with the release of singles, but presented us with a five-song EP.

I have known about the concept of the record long before its release, but it was very interesting to see how exactly it would be realized. And, as it turned out, the guys did not disappoint the audience once again, showing quite typical melodies from a different angle. Now let's take a closer look at each track on the record.

The first track on “Aus deutschen Landen” is a folk song called “Wir lieben die Stürme”, variations on the theme of which one hear from many performers - from Heino to Die Apokalyptischen Reiter. However, Tim managed to find an original arrangement that reveals the song in a completely different way. Separately, I want to specially focus on Kammerjaeger's vocals, which are becoming more and more pleasant to listen to. "Wir lieben die Stürme" is, in my opinion, one of the best songs by Nebelhaus, although I have singled out another composition as my favorite track on the EP. But first things first. The measured rhythm of “Wir lieben die Stürme” is replaced by the classic marching rhythm of “Wo alle Straßen enden” ("Marsch der Verdammten", Horst-Heinz Henning), in which you can recognize any typical German march from the times of the first or second world war. Interestingly, this song has never been truly military, as it was written in the 50-60s of the last century. I won’t tell anything more interesting about the “March of the Damned”, and I’ll say even less about the story of the track “Dornen und Disteln” as I could not find the origin of this track (I do not rule out that I have not been searching for it well enough). On the other hand, this is perhaps the most NDH-oriented track on the record, with the sound most typical for Nebelhaus.

But I would like to dwell in more detail on the next track – “Lieb sind sie doch”, because that's what I had in mind when talking about my favorite song on the EP. In terms of composition and atmosphere, “Lieb sind sie doch” reminded me of something between “Puppe” and “Hilf mir” (yes, yes, we cannot do without making analogies with Rammstein). This gets especially funny if you listen to the original version of the song called “Die Männer sind alle Verbrecher”. I totally recommend you to familiarize yourself with the version performed by Brigitte Mira before listening to the one by Nebelhaus. I am sure that you will get even more pleasure: it came out to be a gorgeous cover. And the album ends with another folk song – “Auf einem Jägergrab”. I would say that in terms of arrangement it is similar to “Wo alle Straßen enden”, but only, in my opinion, it came out better. Its chorus is especially good, which at the same time resembles something of a hit and folklore, while melodically it does not quote the original, but only refers to it.

In conclusion, I would like to say a sacramental phrase: “Good, but not enough”. The experiment with new arrangements of folk/military songs and urban romances by Nebelhaus was successful. Nothing to argue about. I'm not sure that the guys will want to develop this topic, but I will say special thanks for “Wir lieben die Stürme” and “Lieb sind sie doch”. I will not rate this release on a ten-point scale because this is not a full-length album, but in my mind, I evaluate it positively as you have already understood.

Available now on:
  • Band
  • Album
    Aus Deutschen Landen
  • Released
    March 25, 2022
  • Country
  • Genres
    NDH / Industrial Metal
  • Buy
  • Share
  • Reviewer:
    Serj Tabu
    Music journalist, showrunner, the co-founder of our radio. And just a freakin' cool man, without whom nothing would have happened!